#1 Posted by Sufferthorn (1734 posts) - - Show Bio

VS

Inspired by the recent AvX: Versus, where (as some of you know) Captain America defeated Gambit

the question here is....were the writers correct in saying that Captain America defeated Gambit the way he did?

It's up for debate

Rules

You may not use scans from the AvX versus as proof...since we're arguing whether the writers were correct.

You may use ANY evidence prior to that fight.

Round 1:

Gambit is Bloodlusted

Morals on for Captain America

1 hour prep for Cap

Location: Emptied X-mansion

Round 2:

Captain America is bloodlusted

Morals on for Gambit

1 Hour prep for Gambit

Location: Forest

Round 3:

Same situation as in AvX: Versus(Reminder, any evidence from that comic is not allowed)

Same Morals

Location

and Random Encounter

Let it begin

#2 Posted by CODYSF (2053 posts) - - Show Bio

Storm wins lol JK but I think Cap haves so much experience to beat Gambit.

#3 Posted by The_Soverighn (1813 posts) - - Show Bio

cap

#4 Posted by joewell (6242 posts) - - Show Bio

gambit all the way

#5 Posted by Nefarious (18314 posts) - - Show Bio

Captain America wins all 3 rounds. He has beaten Gambit before.

#6 Posted by revengeofchucky (19 posts) - - Show Bio

Captain America would win.

#7 Posted by MarvelGrey (243 posts) - - Show Bio

Gambit on all 3 rounds.

#8 Edited by acer51 (2208 posts) - - Show Bio

@MarvelGrey said:

Gambit on all 3 rounds.

Did he use his powers on Dakens flesh?

Because if so I'm calling WIS, because Gambits powers don't work on organic matter.

#9 Posted by God_Spawn (37121 posts) - - Show Bio

@acer51 said:

@MarvelGrey said:

Gambit on all 3 rounds.

Did he use his powers on Dakens flesh?

Because if so I'm calling WIS, because Gambits powers don't work on organic matter.

His powers work on organic matter.

Moderator
#10 Posted by Erik (31395 posts) - - Show Bio

@acer51 said:

@MarvelGrey said:

Gambit on all 3 rounds.

Did he use his powers on Dakens flesh?

Because if so I'm calling WIS, because Gambits powers don't work on organic matter.

His powers have been upgraded to work on organic matter for some time now.

#11 Posted by HellionVulcan (3601 posts) - - Show Bio

@Erik said:

@acer51 said:

@MarvelGrey said:

Gambit on all 3 rounds.

Did he use his powers on Dakens flesh?

Because if so I'm calling WIS, because Gambits powers don't work on organic matter.

His powers have been upgraded to work on organic matter for some time now.

besides in avengers vs the x-men where Gambit charged his suit & cap went boom but survived with no cuts or anything which the whole thing was pis but bloodlusted gambit should beat cap .

#12 Posted by acer51 (2208 posts) - - Show Bio

@Erik said:

@acer51 said:

@MarvelGrey said:

Gambit on all 3 rounds.

Did he use his powers on Dakens flesh?

Because if so I'm calling WIS, because Gambits powers don't work on organic matter.

His powers have been upgraded to work on organic matter for some time now.

Then why did didn't his powers work organic matter during AvX, which is VERY recent.

#13 Posted by God_Spawn (37121 posts) - - Show Bio

@acer51 said:

@Erik said:

@acer51 said:

@MarvelGrey said:

Gambit on all 3 rounds.

Did he use his powers on Dakens flesh?

Because if so I'm calling WIS, because Gambits powers don't work on organic matter.

His powers have been upgraded to work on organic matter for some time now.

Then why did didn't his powers work organic matter during AvX, which is VERY recent.

Cause McNiven is a Cap fanboy and probably didn't do his research.

http://www.comicvine.com/myvine/god_spawn/avx-misconception-can-gambit-charge-organic-matter/87-80752/

Also, consistency is on Gambit's side.

Moderator
#14 Posted by Sufferthorn (1734 posts) - - Show Bio

@Erik:

@acer51:

*Appears in referee uniform*

While it is stated in AvX Versus that Erik is incorrect in saying it works on Organic matter...we cannot use AvX as evidence according to my original post.

Acer51 may have to prove it by other means.

#15 Posted by acer51 (2208 posts) - - Show Bio

@HellionVulcan said:

@Erik said:

@acer51 said:

@MarvelGrey said:

Gambit on all 3 rounds.

Did he use his powers on Dakens flesh?

Because if so I'm calling WIS, because Gambits powers don't work on organic matter.

His powers have been upgraded to work on organic matter for some time now.

besides in avengers vs the x-men where Gambit charged his suit & cap went boom but survived with no cuts or anything which the whole thing was pis but bloodlusted gambit should beat cap .

Gambit didn't use his powers on organic matter in that instance.

Captain america told Gambit his powers wouldn't work on his suit.

So instead Gambit blew up the fish scales lining his suit which were made of metal.

I have the scans, it is specifically mentioned in that issue his powers don't work on organic matter.

#16 Posted by k4tzm4n (36106 posts) - - Show Bio

@acer51 said:

@HellionVulcan said:

@Erik said:

@acer51 said:

@MarvelGrey said:

Gambit on all 3 rounds.

Did he use his powers on Dakens flesh?

Because if so I'm calling WIS, because Gambits powers don't work on organic matter.

His powers have been upgraded to work on organic matter for some time now.

besides in avengers vs the x-men where Gambit charged his suit & cap went boom but survived with no cuts or anything which the whole thing was pis but bloodlusted gambit should beat cap .

Gambit didn't use his powers on organic matter in that instance.

Captain america told Gambit his powers wouldn't work on his suit.

So instead Gambit blew up the fish scales lining his suit which were made of metal.

I have the scans, it is specifically mentioned in that issue his powers don't work on organic matter.

Did you not follow the link GS provided?

@god_spawn said:

@acer51 said:

@Erik said:

@acer51 said:

@MarvelGrey said:

Gambit on all 3 rounds.

Did he use his powers on Dakens flesh?

Because if so I'm calling WIS, because Gambits powers don't work on organic matter.

His powers have been upgraded to work on organic matter for some time now.

Then why did didn't his powers work organic matter during AvX, which is VERY recent.

Cause McNiven is a Cap fanboy and probably didn't do his research.

http://www.comicvine.com/myvine/god_spawn/avx-misconception-can-gambit-charge-organic-matter/87-80752/

Also, consistency is on Gambit's side.

Staff
#17 Posted by SavageDragon (2248 posts) - - Show Bio

Cap for sure and I'm a huge Gambit fan. Just look at Caps feats.

#18 Posted by Erik (31395 posts) - - Show Bio

@acer51 said:

@Erik said:

@acer51 said:

@MarvelGrey said:

Gambit on all 3 rounds.

Did he use his powers on Dakens flesh?

Because if so I'm calling WIS, because Gambits powers don't work on organic matter.

His powers have been upgraded to work on organic matter for some time now.

Then why did didn't his powers work organic matter during AvX, which is VERY recent.

Because a writer (and by extension, Captain America) did not know about Gambit's upgrade... even though it has been this way for at least 2 years. Plus why would Gambit want to kill a friend of a friend, who he knows is a good man?

#19 Posted by Sufferthorn (1734 posts) - - Show Bio

@acer51:

HEY! NO EVIDENCE FROM AVX IS ALOWED

#20 Posted by Sufferthorn (1734 posts) - - Show Bio

@Erik:

We could assume only Cap didn't know, despite the WIS.

BUT THAT IS COMPLETELY OFF-TOPIC.

Stop using AvX as your arguements. >_<

#21 Posted by Erik (31395 posts) - - Show Bio

@Sufferthorn said:

@Erik:

We could assume only Cap didn't know, despite the WIS.

BUT THAT IS COMPLETELY OFF-TOPIC.

Stop using AvX as your arguements. >_<

I am pretty sure only one person is trying to use AvX feats. Most that are talking about it are just trying to correct his information since obviously writer/editor error has led him astray.

#22 Posted by Sufferthorn (1734 posts) - - Show Bio

@Erik:

Fair enuff

#23 Posted by Saren (25201 posts) - - Show Bio

Cap already won. Yes, I am using AvX as an argument. Because I do not see the fight going any differently irrespective of what material it appeared in.

Moderator
#24 Posted by Sufferthorn (1734 posts) - - Show Bio

@CitizenBane:

Well stop going against my OP, and prove it, using only evidence from BEFORE that comic.

#25 Posted by TDK_1997 (14387 posts) - - Show Bio

Cap.

#26 Posted by ShootingNova (15195 posts) - - Show Bio

@Nefarious said:

Captain America wins all 3 rounds. He has beaten Gambit before.
#27 Posted by KainScion (2973 posts) - - Show Bio

@Sufferthorn: get over it. cap beating gambit isnt poor writting. its accurate writting. cap all 3.

#28 Posted by Sufferthorn (1734 posts) - - Show Bio

@KainScion:

Hey! I'm the Neutral Party! I'm not in spite! Argue with the arguers.

I'm just the OP.

#29 Posted by Stronger (4948 posts) - - Show Bio

@Nefarious said:

Captain America wins all 3 rounds. He has beaten Gambit before.
#30 Posted by illegal (35 posts) - - Show Bio

Gambit wins 2 out of 3

#31 Posted by ChaosBlazer (3930 posts) - - Show Bio

@Nefarious said:

Captain America wins all 3 rounds. He has beaten Gambit before.
#32 Edited by RenaissanceMan (980 posts) - - Show Bio

I say Gambit. Regardless of what has happened before. It was a poor showing.