#1 Edited by Discopirate (34 posts) - - Show Bio

As I mentioned in a previous thread, I'm fairly new to reading comic books having decided that the New 52 was the perfect jumping on point. However, as Batman's continuity has, for the most part, been left unchanged I wanted to go back and read some of the older trades to better understand things. So I cam up with a list of trades that I wanted to read. However, things got out of hand and the list I complied was rather long! Which of the following would people say are absolutely essential to get up to speed on the Batman continuity? I've already picked up Batman: Year One as well as Batman and the Monster Men and Batman the Mad Monk (for a taste of Batman's beginnings).

I've read enough to understand that The Man Who Laughs, The Long Halloween, Killing Joke, A Death in the Family and Hush are pretty essential reads. But which of these other trades should I go for?

1. BATMAN: YEAR ONE – Batman #404 – 407

2. BATMAN AND THE MONSTER MEN – Batman and the Monster Men #1-6

3. BATMAN AND THE MAD MONK – Batman and the Mad Monk #1-6

4. BATMAN: PREY – Legends of the Dark Knight #11-15 + #137-141

5. BATMAN: THE MAN WHO LAUGHS – Original Graphic Novel + Detective Comics #784-786

6. BATMAN: THE LONG HALLOWEEN – Batman: The Long Halloween #1-13

7. BATMAN: HAUNTED KNIGHT – Legends of the Dark Knight Halloween Special #1-3 + Batman: Madness + Batman: Ghosts

8. BATMAN: DARK VICTORY – Batman: Dark Victory #0-13

9. BATMAN: THE KILLING JOKE – Original Graphic Novel

10. BATMAN: A DEATH IN THE FAMILY – Batman #425-429

11. BATMAN: KNIGHTFALL VOLUME 1: NEW EDITION – Batman: Vengeance of Bane Special #1 + Batman #491-500 + Detective Comics #659-660 + Showcase ’93 #7-8 + Batman: Shadow of the Bat #17-18

12. BATMAN: KNIGHTFALL VOLUME 2: KNIGHTQUEST – Detective Comics #667-675 + Batman #501-508 + Batman: Shadow of the Bat #19-28 + Catwoman #6-7 + Robin #7