Any Books I need to Read Before Starting the New 52 Batman?

AndrewVII

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

Hey, so I recently decided to get into the Batman comics in the new 52. I was wondering if I needed to read any other books before starting these ones, or can I just dive into the batman comics and understand everything? Keep in mind I am somewhat new to the comic world.

Also, is Batman's origins explained in the new 52 lineup?

Avatar image for deactivated-5edd330f57b65
deactivated-5edd330f57b65

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

@andrewvii: Yes there are some books you should read. They aren't vital for understanding, but they will make reading batman better if you know a bit of his history. Unlike most other heroes, New 52 Batman has retained his stories that took place before the new 52, so you will benefit from reading some of the more important ones to understand everything. The three I'd recommend reading are The Killing Joke, Hush and A Death in the Family. Batman's new 52 origin is different than his pre-new 52 origin though and this is explained in his new 52 series. However, Batman's pre-new 52 origin, told in Year One, is one the best batman stories and if you want to understand the character better you should give that a try.

You can pick up a new 52 batman series and understand everything but if you really want to know some of his history and important events that happened to him and the bat family it would be good to read what I said above.

Avatar image for darkdetective27
darkdetective27

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 69

User Lists: 10

I would also recommend The Dark Knight Returns.

Spider-ManWins

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Skip the loser bat and read spiderman

Avatar image for nathaniel_christopher
Nathaniel_Christopher

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Batman Year One

A Death in the Family

Batman Knightfall

The Killing Joke

Batman and Son

Aahz

Forum Posts

Wiki Points