Starting with flash

#1 Posted by HitmanX (2 posts) - - Show Bio

Hello. I'm new to comic books. The reason why I want to start with flash, is that he seems a little more interesting to me than the others. I've found two sets; which one should I start with?

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Flash-1987-DC-Comics-1-247-VF-NM-Complete-/170752579284?pt=US_Comic_Books&hash=item27c1a596d4

http://www.ebay.com/itm/FLASH-RUN-8-0-9-8-VF-TO-NM-MT-90-ISSUES-DC-WAID-RAMOS-/110883295788?pt=US_Comic_Books&hash=item19d128d22c

I could swing both sets, if they are a set? I would rather buy just one set.

#2 Edited by batmannflash (6210 posts) - - Show Bio

@hitmanx: I honestly don't know if this is worth it. That's extremely expensive and not all of those issues are worth reading. And this is coming from a Flash fan!

But if you had to choose one, I like Geoff John's run better than Waid's run. And I'm assuming that 2nd link is just Waid. So I would get the 1st link, but that's much more expensive.

A word of advice, that's a lot of issues and not all of them are worth getting. If you want to know which specific stories are the best, then I made a Barry Allen reading guide: http://www.comicvine.com/barry-allen/4005-22804/guide/

And here are my favorite Flash stories: http://www.comicvine.com/profile/batmannflash/lists/favorite-flash-stories/46766

Waid and Johns both have some great stuff but I wouldn't pay 270 or 800 bucks for that. Buy the specific story arcs which seem interesting to you.

From Volume 2, "Return of Barry Allen" #74-79, "Absolute Zero" #182, "Blitz" #197-200, Rogue War "220-225.

From Volume 3, all of it. It's only 12 issues anyways.

Read Flashpoint.

Read Rogue's Revenge from Final Crisis

And all of Flash's current series (Volume 4), since it only has 22 issues plus 2 Annuals as of now.

#3 Posted by Knightfall225 (1980 posts) - - Show Bio