I'm New To The Flash!

#1 Edited by ownsin (142 posts) - - Show Bio

Hey guys, i just got interested with flash, after watching the JLA cartoon this past month, i have not read any comic for the flash! so where should i start? whats the best to read and to begin with, and understand everything from the beginning etc...? please do help!

P.S: I'm new to comics btw!!!

#2 Posted by moshimoshi (63 posts) - - Show Bio

Um, to understand everything you'd have to go back 60 years...

But with a general understanding of the charecter, which you should have I'd go with Rebirth
 http://www.comicvine.com/the-flash-rebirth/39-55893/

#3 Posted by Cosmic Sentinel (3749 posts) - - Show Bio

Agreed, Flash: Rebirth is probably the best place to start and it's fairly recent leading into his new series. That's the Barry Allen Flash though, the JLA cartoon is Wally West. I'm not sure I can really give specific reading advice for him as I never read his solo series.

#4 Posted by iloverobots (455 posts) - - Show Bio

You could start with Rebirth, that's right if you have some understanding of the characters. What I do suggest you do (if you have the budget) is the following (that's what I did when I first got into the Flash characters) 

1. Jay Garrick (The Golden Age Flash Archives) 
They're available pretty much anywhere in trades, they collect a lot of  the Jay Garrick stuff. Note that most of this stuff if from the 40's and 50's so it's quite different than what's coming out today. This might not be your cup of tea. 

2. Barry Allen (Showcase: The Flash + The Flash Chronicles) [Pretty much the only essential part]
Showcase and The Flash Chronicles starts in the late 50's but Barry is the current Flash so if you really want to get into the character that he his today, this is a pretty good read. But again, it's kinda dated.