Follow

Final Crisis

Story arc »

Supposedly the last of the three multiverse altering crises. This event pitted the heroes of the multiverse against the reincarnated denizens of Apokolips as well as the evil Mandrakk.

About to read this anything else i need to read prior to it?

blaze503

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 1

#1  Edited By blaze503

I have posted before on a few comics and i am fairly new to comics, just started reading this year and are really enjoying it. As most i started with Batman and have really liked it and have been reading Grant Morrison's stuff. So i have read RIP and i think the next is Final Crisis but is there anything i need to read prior to this. I have seen the books countdown to final crisis, should i read this? I have never read a DC comic event before so some guidance would be excellent.

GamiSB

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 3

#2  Edited By GamiSB
    @blaze503 : Ok, first off some things need to be made clear.  
     1)  Final Crisis will require multiple rereads. 
     2)  DC events always use a wide varieties of characters and it will help tremendously to know who's who and what their back stories are. That said you do not need to read any prior books to understand the main message and story of Final Crisis. 
     3)  Stay away from Countdown. Editorial did a horrible job keeping it, Death of the New Gods, and FInal Crisis all in mind and synced together. The three books while meant to be all leading to the same story contradict each other quiet a bit.  
     4)  Stick to just Final Crisis especially  the hardcover or the trade paper back versions. If you are reading it issue by issue you will also need to pick up Final Crisis: Submit and Final Crisis: Superman Beyond 1 and 2 as they are tie ins that were included in the collected versions of FC but were originally tie in books.