The Evangelion: 1.0 You Are (Not) Alone wiki last edited by EPYON8675 on 02/05/16 09:27PM View full history

Evangelion: 1.0 You Are (Not) Alone (ヱヴァンゲリヲン新劇場版:序, Evangerion Shin Gekijōban: Jo) is an action / science fiction / psychological drama animated movie based upon an alternate Earth history where the beings known as Angels are out to destroy humanity. It was directed and written by Hideaki Anno. Music was composed by Shiro Sagisu. The Studio Khara, Anno's own production company, produced the movie and distributed by Studio Khara & The Klockworx Co., Ltd.. It's an animated film based upon the original Hideaki Anno anime series, Neon Genesis Evangelion (1995). The Evangelion: 1.0 is the first film of four in the re-adaptation of the original story. Unlike other re-releases of other anime series being brought to theaters, where production would simply stretch the original cell work for the big screen. The Rebuild of Evangelion project is a complete remake from the ground up and much of the story elements have been changed to create a new story, and a promise of new characters for the future films. The movie was designed independent of the anime's original production company, GAINAX; but was created with their cooperation.

Other Media

DVD & Blu-ray

Evangelion: 1.0 would have minor alterations to put to picture, editing, and sound quality. It was retitled as Evangelion: 1.01 and released as a two-disc special edition DVD in Japan on April 25, 2008. There were 300,000 of these special-edition DVD sets made, and the "Normal Edition" released on May 21, 2008. The "Limited Edition" release would sell and estimated 263,395 units in the first six months of it's sales and ranked as the fourth best-selling DVD in Japan. In May 27, 2009 three minutes were added to the film for the Blu-ray Disc and new DVD release and titled as Evangelion: 1.11 You Are (Not) Alone. Though FUNimation had released the Evangelion: 1.01 edition on November 17, 2009, they released Evangelion: 1.11 Blu-ray/DVD on March 9, 2010. Included was a 20 page booklet, the "Angel of Doom" music video, and a preview of the next film, Evangelion: 2.0 You Can (Not) Advance, set to ""Fly Me to the Moon (In Other Words) -2007 MIX-", from the Evangelion: 1.0 OST.

User reviews Add new review

This edit will also create new pages on Comic Vine for:

Beware, you are proposing to add brand new pages to the wiki along with your edits. Make sure this is what you intended. This will likely increase the time it takes for your changes to go live.

Comment and Save

Until you earn 1000 points all your submissions need to be vetted by other Comic Vine users. This process takes no more than a few hours and we'll send you an email once approved.