Follow

DC Comics

Publisher »

Originally known as "National Publications", DC is a publisher of comic books featuring iconic characters and teams such as Superman, Batman, Wonder Woman, Green Lantern, the Justice League of America, and the Teen Titans, and is considered the originator of the American superhero genre. DC, along with rival Marvel Comics, is one of the "big two" American comic book publishers. DC Entertainment is a subsidiary of Warner Brothers and its parent company Warner Media.

New reader looking to get into New 52?

newmayne

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

Hey guys, I'm fairly new to comics (I've only read a few Batman graphic novels before and 10 or so Nightwing issues) and I'm looking to start reading some series that rebooted in the New 52. So far what I'm interested in is Blue Beetle, Teen Titans, Swamp Thing and Animal Man. If anyone has any thoughts on these series please share! :D

Also, I was wondering if I'd need to read prior comics to understand the new 52 Swamp Thing and Animal Man series. Should I just jump right in or should previous issues?

Thanks!

RedLantern23

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 1

Both Animal Man and Swamp Thing's New 52 stuff is AMAZING. Sadly Animal Man got cancelled in March but Swamp Thing is still going strong.

For both of these series I'd suggest starting from issue #1. If you cant manage to do that, you at least need to pick up issues 12 through 18 of both series as they cross over with each other in a story called "Rotworld" which was very good.

newmayne

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#3  Edited By newmayne

@redlantern23 Thanks! Yeah I'm definitely gonna start reading from issue #1. Should I read anything else besides the New 52 stuff though? I've never read Animal Man or Swamp Thing and I don't want to be lost reading the New 52 titles.

Outside_85

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 39