Follow

Comic Book Guy

Character » Comic Book Guy appears in 314 issues.

Owner/Manager of The Android's Dungeon, and master of all comic book knowledge.

Comic Book Literacy Trailer, Yes Comics Can Be Used To Learn

gmanfromheck

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 472

User Lists: 2

Edited By gmanfromheck
    No Caption Provided
    I've always felt that comics were more than just a bunch of pretty pictures with stories about people fighting while wearing tights.  Being literate is an amazing ability.  Once you are able to read and write, you often take it for granted.  The sad truth is there are so many individuals that are not literate.  Why not use comics to help with this problem?  

Some of you may know that I was a high school math teacher for a while before the existence of Comic Vine.  While I did teach math, I spent a lot of time dealing with literacy as well.  I made my students read the textbook (a strange concept for some, reading a math book).  There were also the dreaded "word problems."  My students were required to answer those with a complete sentence.  Simply answering with a numeric answer want not enough for full credit, even if that number was the correct answer.  To help with the "newcomer" population, I had a stack of comic books in the back of my classroom.  Students were allowed to look at them if they finished their work or test early. They were also allowed to borrow them if they wanted.

What is "Comic Book Literacy"? 

Comic Book Literacy" is an independent documentary film that showcases the utilization of comic books to promote literacy and education.  Throughout the film educators, researchers, writers and artists give commentary in both an historic and contemporary context on a variety of subjects related to the topic.

Check out the trailer.  See how many creators you can name.