The Charles De Lint wiki last edited by GonzoVG on 05/16/14 08:50PM View full history


Charles de Lint has been writing and publishing fantasy stories, novels, poems, comics and even songs since the 1970s. He's been awarded the following awards, most of them multiple times: The Mythopoeic Award, the Sunburst award, the Balrog, the World Fantasy Award, the British Fantasy Award, the Aurors (Canadian fantasy award), the Locus Poll award, the HOMer, the Bram Stoker award, the HUGO and NEBULA awards, among others.

Most popularly known for his Newford Environs series (Newford books plus the newere Environs stories & books like The Cats of Tanglewood Forest, which is actually an expansion of his children's book A Circle of Cats and Seven Wild Sisters) and his Tamson Ottowa series best known for Moonheart.

He has worked extensively with Charles Vess over the years and limited editions of their collaborations are often available through Subterrenean Press.


His novels are:

  • Over My Head (Environs -- Wildlings, book 1)
  • Under My Skin (Environs -- Wildlings, book 2)
  • The Painted Boy
  • Eyes Like Leaves (Subterranean Press)
  • The Mystery of Grace
  • Angel of Darkness (Newford, horror)
  • The Little Country
  • SvAhA
  • Wolf Moon (re-issued by Subterranean Press)
  • Dingo (Newford)
  • Promises to Keep (Newford, special edition from Subterranean Press)
  • Little (Grrl) Lost (Newford)
  • Widdershins (Newford)
  • The Blue Girl (Newford)
  • Medicine Road (Environs, originally published by Subterranean Press)
  • A Circle of Cats / The Cats of Tanglewood Forest (Environs)
  • Spirits in the Wires (Newford)
  • The Onion Girl (Newford)
  • Seven Wild Sisters (Environs, originally published by Supterranean Press, collected in Tapping the Dream Tree, and slated for re-release the fall of 2013)
  • Forests of the Heart (Newford)
  • Someplace to Be Flying (Newford)
  • Trader (Newford)
  • Memory & Dream (Newford)
  • I'll Be Watching You (Newford, Horror)
  • From a Whisper to a Scream (Newford, Horror)
  • The Dreaming Place (cover by Brian Froud) (Newford)
  • The Road to Lindonvarna (Tamson Ottawa )
  • Jack of Kinrowan (2 smaller novels-in-1) (Tamson Ottawa)
  • Spiritwalk (2 short sotires and 3 novellas in 1) (Tamson Ottawa)
  • Greenmantle (Tamson Ottawa)
  • Yarro: An Autum Tale (Tamson Ottawa)
  • Moonheart (Tamson Ottawa)
  • Philip José Farmer's The Dugeon #3: The Valley of Thunder
  • Philip José Farmer's The Dugeon #5: The Hidden City
  • Into the Green
  • Brian Froud's Faerielands : The Wild Wood

This edit will also create new pages on Comic Vine for:

Beware, you are proposing to add brand new pages to the wiki along with your edits. Make sure this is what you intended. This will likely increase the time it takes for your changes to go live.

Comment and Save

Until you earn 1000 points all your submissions need to be vetted by other Comic Vine users. This process takes no more than a few hours and we'll send you an email once approved.