Follow

Carol Danvers

Character » Carol Danvers appears in 4389 issues.

After encountering the Kree hero Captain Marvel, Carol Danvers was accidentally subjected to otherworldly radiation that transformed her into a superhuman warrior. Calling herself Ms. Marvel, she established herself as one of the most powerful and prominent heroes and respected member of the Avengers. She has now adopted the mantle of Captain Marvel for herself.

Captain Marvel recommended reading

WhineHaus

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

#1  Edited By WhineHaus

I'm rather new to comics, but it seems like a good time to hop onboard. Having a love for strong women, Carol Danvers has always been an interest to me. I don't know much about her aside from limited knowledge of her powers, but I'd love to read about her.

I was wondering what everyone thought of the Marvel NOW Captain Marvel, and if it's a good spot to start off with? Or if there's any other recommended stories to check out?

I don't really need her origin, and don't mind filling things in about her backstory, I just want to read a good story arc where she's involved. And suggestions?

Soupnazi

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

#2  Edited By Soupnazi

The first Captain Marvel arc begins by taking a look at Carol's past and establishing how she will be moving forward, so it's a great jumping on point. Issue 9 is also an acceptable start, as it begins a new arc with a new artist and isn't as defined by time travel and backstory as the first arc. In many ways, the first arc feels like an extended origin story for Carol as Captain Marvel, and issues 7-8 tell a one-off, largely irrelevant story, making the arc starting in #9 come off more as the "true" beginning to the series. Also, note that Carol's first appearance as Captain Marvel was in Avenging Spider-Man issues 9 and 10.