Where to start?

#1 Posted by xxBryce10xx (12 posts) - - Show Bio

So I am completely new to comic reading and collecting. The most I have done is watch a few movies. Anyways I heard you could start anywhere as long as it is the first in the arc. So I ordered this Detective 719 because it is the first in an arc. I wanted to start with the new 52 but since I have to order off amazon at the moment I wanted to get some cheap ones (since i dont have alot). If there is a better place to start please let me know. Also, I am interested in Cap America but this obviously is the wrong subforum

#2 Edited by TheTimShow (78 posts) - - Show Bio

Batman Year One (Graphic Novel) for Batman and for Captain America try Marvel Essential Captain America Vol. 1 (Omnibus).

#3 Posted by xxBryce10xx (12 posts) - - Show Bio

So what does omnibus mean? Also a graphic novel is just a book of the whole series right?

#4 Posted by TheTimShow (78 posts) - - Show Bio

It basically a collection of comics in the form of one book. Sometimes a graphic novel is standalone from a series, that's what makes it different from an Omnibus. An omnibus is like I said a collection from the series. In this case Vol. 1 is the first Tales of Suspense and Captain America comics that include Captain America.

#5 Posted by Durakken (1593 posts) - - Show Bio

Here what I told another person who recently asked something similar to me in a PM. He said he's ok with reading a large amount and only with people like that do I really recommend the following post but here it is... Hope this helps