Follow

Batman

Character » Batman appears in 23651 issues.

Bruce Wayne, who witnessed the murder of his billionaire parents as a child, swore to avenge their deaths. He trained extensively to achieve mental and physical perfection, mastering martial arts, detective skills, and criminal psychology. Costumed as a bat to prey on the fears of criminals, and utilizing a high-tech arsenal, he became the legendary Batman.

Newbie looking for help.

JmzMc89

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

#1  Edited By JmzMc89

So as you probably have already gathered from the title, Im a noob at this.

I want to read the Batman graphic novels but I am confused. I have read online that Batman - Year One is the one to start with but then it gets confusing.

What does TP stand for? Is this a bunch of comics with the "same" storyline in one graphic novel? I am very confused and I really want to read them properly and not miss anything.

Do you really need to go back and read the comics from the 1940s or do these graphic novels cover these stories?

Please help.

JmzMc89

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Also I have seen graphic novel Batman: The Man Who Laughs TP. Is this novel the same story as the first appearance of the Joker in the comics??

Can anyone else see why I'm confused?

arkhamace

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Everything was rebooted with "New 52" in 2011. Batman Year One is not canon anymore. The old storys can be fun though. The Animated Series Batman is not canon but there are things which are reused. Batman has ever an "alfred" "batcave" so these are things which count even if his universe got rebooted. Superman got even a canon "faora" in his comics from the movie "man of steel" so everything is influencing.

Rurgandy

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

A "TP" is a trade paperback, that collects a set of issues making up a story arc.