New Batmans: What's what? and what'd I miss since '93

#1 Posted by ez__gibberish__a1 (48 posts) - - Show Bio
#2 Edited by Kangaxx_54 (303 posts) - - Show Bio

Well I'm fairly new to comics, so I can't give you specific recommendations, but I do know that you've missed out on a lot :)

There are, IMO, two important periods from the late 2000s and 'till now: Morrisons run and the reboot. Grant Morrison has headed the development on Batman from 2008 or so, starting out with Batman & Son. There's a lot of stories in his arc, and one of them is still going on, though it will end soon (Batman Incorporated). You can read more about it all here, including trades, reading order and so forth http://comicsastonish.com/2012/01/04/a-readers-guide-to-grant-morrisons-batman/ There's a lot of crossover with the Final Crisis storyline, which involves the Justice League (major spoilers in the link): http://www.comicvine.com/final-crisis/39-51642/ Or perhaps crossover is the wrong term, but Final Crisis influences the Batman stories a lot. I haven't read Final Crisis, aside from a couple synopses, and I'm following it ok-ish without having read them.

I haven't read all Morrison's trades yet (just got the rest of them the other day), but the first are very good. They introduce Damian Wayne, who has to be seen to be believed. I really love his character, because over the years since his introduction he has developed quite a lot as a person, and he adds a lot to the stories.