Damn you Frank Miller!!!!!

#1 Posted by Prodigal Son (3473 posts) - - Show Bio

I want my money back for All-Star Batman #5. I was giving Miller a chance to redeem himself (since I've never liked his stuff, and I know that makes me in a huge minority), but he frickin' ruined everything.

Watching his complete mischaracterization of Wonder Woman, the twisted relationship of hers with Clark, making Hal into a pansy, making Plastic Man not funny, turning Batman into a sadistic but loony version of Midnighter, AAARRRRGGGGGHHHHHH!!!!!

I kept thinking, "Any second now, this is going to turn out to be some twisted, alternate reality, and everything will work the way it should."

I may actually rip a comic in half, something which I've never done before. I'll voluntarily read The Authority, every issue ever from beginning to end before I pick another one of these.

And please, don't anybody say that I should be more open and accepting of re-envisioning old, iconic characters. They're iconic for certain reasons. You can't just strip away the essence of who they are, stick them in the same costume, and say they're the same person. Bollocks!

At least the art was beautiful. I love me some Jim Lee artwork.

#2 Posted by Odyssey_Dawn (84674 posts) - - Show Bio

Daaaaamn. Tell us how you really feel :)

#3 Posted by zero edge (3696 posts) - - Show Bio

Oh crap, all-star #5 is out?

#4 Posted by G-Man (31838 posts) - - Show Bio

I actually got into a conversation at the comic shop about Frank's work of late. It's like he's just trying to be extreme with his writing. Sure I get that Wonder Woman's an amazon and all but she just seemed so out of character. And Batman laughing? WTF?!? Oh and nice variant cover Mr. Miller. I take it you don't have any respect for female characters? This isn't Sin City. This should be an Elseworld. Jim Lee is the only reason I'd buy it. And I really really don't buy that the lateness is all on him. Trust me.

Staff