Follow

Batman

Character » Batman appears in 23651 issues.

Bruce Wayne, who witnessed the murder of his billionaire parents as a child, swore to avenge their deaths. He trained extensively to achieve mental and physical perfection, mastering martial arts, detective skills, and criminal psychology. Costumed as a bat to prey on the fears of criminals, and utilizing a high-tech arsenal, he became the legendary Batman.

Batman..where do I start reading?

xxPixi

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

I'm completely new to reading comics and such but ever since I was a little girl I have loved batman, mainly the villians. I want to start reading the comics but I have no idea where to begin. I have read volume 1 of the suicide squad as it was only 49p on amazon. I also have harley quinn volume 1 waiting for me to read.

I've come to the end of suicide squad vol 1 and would really like to know why the joke has had his face sliced off? Where do I start reading to find out how and why this happens?

Vulshock

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 0

You should start reading Batman by Scott Snyder and Greg Capullo from #1. The series has had some great villains both new and old.

The Joker lost his face in Detective Comics #1 and it is the only issue that deals with that.

Avatar image for transformers1024
    Transformers1024

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 5

Detective Comics vol 1 and Batman vol 1

PunyParker

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 45

User Lists: 15

@xxpixi: Miller books,then Loeb books,then Morisson books,then now.

jb681131

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 1

@xxpixi: Here is a clearer answer :

DC had 2 major reboots :

• in 1986 after Crisis on infinit earth
    • in 2011 after Flashpoint

Thus making 3 main Batman timelins

1. 1939-1986 : Gold, Silver and Bronze ages
    2. 1986-2011: Post-Crisis or Modern age
    3. 2011-now: Post-Flashpoint or New52