Follow

Batman

Character » Batman appears in 23651 issues.

Bruce Wayne, who witnessed the murder of his billionaire parents as a child, swore to avenge their deaths. He trained extensively to achieve mental and physical perfection, mastering martial arts, detective skills, and criminal psychology. Costumed as a bat to prey on the fears of criminals, and utilizing a high-tech arsenal, he became the legendary Batman.

Batman Timeline, canon. Some clarity, please

Jay_Russ

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

#1  Edited By Jay_Russ

I am fairly new to comics. Needless to say, my favorite is Batman. I'm currently reading Detective Comics and Batman and Robin. I hopped on, so to speak, when DC relaunched everything with the New 52, figured it would be a good starting point for new readers, and, so far, it seems to be true---at least for me. Still, these last few weeks I've found myself on wiki catching on on things, different characters and what have you in the Batman universe. I've also found myself buying different graphic novels, different comics to give me a better understanding of Batman. I can say that he is really fleshed out good.

My question is do any of the stuff pre New 52 count? I've read on several sites, forums, etc. that the Batman time line is messed up. I was under the impression that the new 52 was a hardrelaunch, so even Batman's time line was new, too. So do great stories like Hush, The Black Mirror, The Killing Joke, The Long Halloween, a Death in the family,etc great stuff from the past does not count. Is this true? I ask because I was reading Zack Miller's Batman Year One (excellent work). and from my understanding that is the accepted origin story of Bruce Wayne. I am confused because Zero Year is also an origin story. Is Batman's time line wiped clean? Thank you in advance for any insight.

devitciiu

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 10

User Lists: 17

#2  Edited By devitciiu