Batman chronological order help?

#1 Posted by Snotrocket07 (2 posts) - - Show Bio

I'm new to the batman comic books and starting at Batman: Year One. I'm looking to read them in somewhat chronological order. What is confusing the crap out of me is I see all of these story arcs,(which I some-what understand it from that point) and these lists of them in order. What I'm not comprehending is I finished year one, (loved it), but now I'm kinda told to go read Shaman, to follow it chronologically, but I also see that in issue number, from Year One #404-407, it also goes into Batman: The New Adventures #408, etc. Are these critical to follow? Or should I not waste my time with them and just follow the story arcs? Are these included in another arc later? I realize the issue numbers won't match correctly due to release dates, authors, etc, but I don't want to move ahead and miss apart of the story if that makes any sense. HELP!

#2 Posted by Snotrocket07 (2 posts) - - Show Bio

This is the list I'm referencing: http://www.comicvine.com/batman/29-1699/the-full-batman-timeline-in-chronological-order-with-mistakes/92-654156/?page=1

#3 Edited by ngroove (321 posts) - - Show Bio

You are talking about the now-"Old" continuity, which has since now became as "continuity" as Pre-Crisis was the continuity between 1955 to 1985-6, with some elements remaining, while many others became obsolete since, doesn't matter anymore, with another "Earth" or "Crisis".

Continuity Now, start with many of the volume twos (Batman, Detective Comics, Dark Knight, Batman Incorporated, Nightwing, Batman & Robin) a volume three (Batgirl) and even a volume four (Catwoman) go from there.

#4 Edited by Manhunter2070 (119 posts) - - Show Bio

The new 52 was designed to work around these kinds of things, so you could ignore it if you wanted to and just follow batman from the new 52.