Comic Vine News


Archaia Announces Mouse Guard: Legends Of The Guard

Get ready for a new miniseries in May.

Archaia Entertainment has announced the launch of a new anthology miniseries, Mouse Guard: Legends of the Guard. Covers and chapter breaks will be written and drawn by creator David Petersen and contributors will include Gene Ha, Terry Moore, Ted Naifeh, Guy Davis, Sean Rubin, Mark Smylie, Craig Rousseau, Karl Kerschl, Katie Cook and Jeremy Bastian. Issue #1 will be full color and will be in the 8" x 8" format with a $3.50 price tag. It will be on sale in May so make sure to ask your local comic shop to order it.

“It started with the excitement and pleasure I had when Jeremy Bastian and Mark Smylie did their pinups for Volume 1 of Mouse Guard,” explained Petersen about the genesis of Legends of the Guard. “Jeremy and Mark really got the feel of Mouse Guard, and knowing them and their storytelling work, I invited them to do a story anytime they liked. As more and more pinups came in and the series gained fans among professionals I admired, the list of people who I thought were a good fit and would be willing to do a Mouse Guard story grew. Archaia also liked the idea, so with list in hand, we started setting up the book.”

 The mini will be set in a tavern in the Mouse Guard world where we will see a group of Guard Mice take turns to spin the tallest tale. Petersen will write and draw the scenes set in the tavern while the other creators will tell each "tale."
David Peterson also writes and draws an 11-page original Mouse Guard story in Archaia's Free Comic Book Day issue, the Mouse Guard/Fraggle Rock flip book which will be available for free on May 1, 2010. Petersen will launch Mouse Guard Vol. 3: The Black Axe, a six-issue series, in September.
2 Comments Refresh
Posted by No_Name_

I am so excited about this! Mouse Guard is by far one of my favorite comics of all time. :)

Posted by DevilmanEX

Love Mouse Guard.........I just don't understand why the release schedule was so sketchy for the first two series