Dance Your Cares Away, Archaia Adapts Henson Properties

Posted by G-Man (30641 posts) - - Show Bio
 

 

 

There some great news for fans of Jim Henson and Archaia Comics.  A partnership has been formed to bring several of the Jim Henson Company's products to comic book and graphic novel form.

What can we expect?  The multi-year partnership will include adaptions of Fraggle Rock, Labyrinth, The Dark Crystal, Mirrormask, The Storyteller and other titles. 

Can I just say how incredibly awesome this is?  I'll admit I'm acatually a late-comer in the world of Fraggle Rock but have recently appreciated how great it is as my daughter and I have been watching the DVD releases of the series.  Labyrinth and The Dark Crystal are simply classic movies.  Neil Gaiman 's Mirrormask was a trippy adventure as well.

 

 

Not only does this deal allow Archaia to adapt these existing properties, they also will be creating brand new stories based on them.

“Some of the best storytellers in the world are flocking to comic books and graphic novels, making them the foremost platform for innovative and imaginative storytelling,” said Joe LeFavi, Director of Publishing and Development at The Jim Henson Company and who will serve as story editor on all the books. “Archaia has always epitomized artistic integrity, and their passion and support for our brands ensure that fans will receive the very best from the properties they know and love as well as from the new stories we will tell.”

 

More information will be announced at this year's San Diego Comic Con as representatives from both Archaia and Henson will reveal creatvie teams and a release schedule.  The first title is tentatively scheduled for a winter 2009 release.

 

UPDATE:   It seems that Fraggle Rock will be the first title released!

Staff
#1 Posted by Vortex13 (12223 posts) - - Show Bio

This... is very good news for me :)

#2 Posted by inferiorego (21227 posts) - - Show Bio

Storytellers was the best show ever

Staff
#3 Posted by LastSon1027 (516 posts) - - Show Bio

FRAGGLE ROCK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! WOO HOOOO. The dog was the best part.

#4 Posted by Decept-O (7274 posts) - - Show Bio

Wow, that is really cool.  Fraggle Rock for the kids, and then Labyrinth and Dark Crystal for teens and adults, and of course Mirrormask.  Never did see Storytellers, but hope this does well for Archaia Comics.

#5 Posted by G-Man (30641 posts) - - Show Bio

There has been talk of a Fraggle Rock movie as well lately.  I wonder how old Sprocket is doing.  Last I heard, the Fraggles actually venture out into "outer space" (in other words, the real world).  Make it so already!

Staff
#6 Posted by Emperor Gonzo Noir (19714 posts) - - Show Bio

I really enjoyed Mirrormask

#7 Posted by ARMIV (4140 posts) - - Show Bio

Mirrormask was so awesome...I'd love to see how it's adapted.

#8 Posted by Media_Master (2189 posts) - - Show Bio

Sounds interesting

#9 Posted by xerox_kitty (15761 posts) - - Show Bio

I heard rumours about this... can't say I ever thought I'd want a Fraggle Comic, but it would go with my old Fraggle Rock lunchbox ;)  It seems strange to me to put puppets in comics, but I'll give it a shot :)

Moderator
#10 Posted by LordAndrew (146 posts) - - Show Bio

You know what? I never actually watched Fraggle Rock as a kid. I had poor taste, I guess. :D I have actually been watching it recently though.Good stuff. :)

#11 Posted by TheDrifter (26555 posts) - - Show Bio

Does this include Muppets?

This edit will also create new pages on Comic Vine for:

Beware, you are proposing to add brand new pages to the wiki along with your edits. Make sure this is what you intended. This will likely increase the time it takes for your changes to go live.

Comment and Save

Until you earn 1000 points all your submissions need to be vetted by other Comic Vine users. This process takes no more than a few hours and we'll send you an email once approved.