Follow

Animal Man

Character » Animal Man appears in 756 issues.

As a happy-go-lucky hero and devoted family man, Buddy Baker can mimic the powers of any animal on Earth and beyond. His powers come from a connection with the morphogenetic field of Earth, also known as the Life Web or the Red.

Animal Man Contradiction?

Zomboid

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 2

User Lists: 3

#1  Edited By Zomboid

I'm pretty new to Animal Man's character. I've only started reading Morrison's run, because I like Morrison, and wanted to read that before I picked up the new 52 series. But anyway, there's a small thing I noticed that's been bothering me in the back of my mind.

Animal Man is a vegetarian and an animal rights supporter (at least in Morrison's run), which I understand is really Morrison pushing his own belief themes, but I think it works for the character, given his nature and all. But if he's an animal rights supporter, why does he sport a leather jacket in his iconic costume?

I know it's a small detail that doesn't really matter, but has anyone else noticed this contradiction? Or possibly shed some light on it, or offer opinions?

tl;dr... Animal Man supports animal rights, but yet wears a leather jacket? Why?

joshmightbe

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 13

#2  Edited By joshmightbe

could be fake leather

Icarusflies

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 14

User Lists: 14

#3  Edited By Icarusflies  Moderator

@Zomboid: It talks about it more later in the run. Don't want to give any spoilers.

Zomboid

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 3

#4  Edited By Zomboid

@Icarusflies: Ah alright, thanks for that then. I guess I should've finished the run before posting.

Icarusflies

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 14

User Lists: 14

#5  Edited By Icarusflies  Moderator

@Zomboid: It's Grant Morrison, the man knows what he's doing. ;)