No recent wiki edits to this page.

Beasts stalk the streets of San Diego--but these creatures are unlike the animals Buddy Baker is used to. Fused monkey and giant cockroaches are just a few of things Animal Man must face in the Concrete Jungle of the city.

The issue opens with Mrs. Weidemeir's cat pouncing on a rodent in the woods, foreshadowing coming events.

Next the story cuts to S.T.A.R. Labs where Animal Man is face to face with a monstrous creature made up of fused lab monkeys. Dr. Meyers informs Animal Man that the creature isn't the only strange being that has been in the lab, the destruction of the room was caused by a human sized cockroach that escaped out a window. Animal Man says that he cannot shed any light on the monkey creature, but could track down the giant cockroach. Thus begins a hunt through the 'Concrete Jungle' of the city, while back in the suburbs, Buddy's wife and daughter have their own encounter with hunters.

User reviews Add new review

5 (0)
4 (1)
3 (0)
2 (0)
1 (0)

4.5 stars 4.5/5 Stars Average score of 1 user reviews

Even better than the first issue 0

On his first 'pro' case, Buddy Baker experiences the city through the nose of a dog, meets Superman, and gets into a fight with a giant rat-man. Continuing his attempt to create a creatively off-beat superhero title in the tradition of Gardner Fox's Flash, Grant Morrison delivers an exciting story that starts as a mystery, turns into a Kirby-esque slugfest, and ends with a downright shocking cliffhanger. Add a couple of interesting subplots, and you have a lot of bang for your buck here. The kin...

3 out of 3 found this review helpful.
See all user reviews

This edit will also create new pages on Comic Vine for:

Beware, you are proposing to add brand new pages to the wiki along with your edits. Make sure this is what you intended. This will likely increase the time it takes for your changes to go live.

Comment and Save

Until you earn 1000 points all your submissions need to be vetted by other Comic Vine users. This process takes no more than a few hours and we'll send you an email once approved.