inferiorego

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 324

User Lists: 12

#1  Edited By inferiorego  Staff

The Good

What a cool idea for a story! Brief synopsis: 17 years ago a crystal came to Earth, in the center of Golden Gate Park in San Francisco, and started glowing. Every woman who was pregnant gave birth, no matter how far along they were, and all the babies survived. All those children (except for Tommy Watts, whose brother died fighting The Quarterback) gained super powers. Now, they all compete on the television show America's Got Super Powers.

America's obsession with competition reality shows and super-heroes clash in one book and it was a ton of fun. This book is accessible to any reader simply because it's so familiar, no matter who you are. It's something we haven't seen in comics before to this magnitude, so it's a fresh new look at a way to do a super-hero book.

The hosts of the America's Got Super Powers are dead on. I'm no expert on reality shows, but I love the cornball dialogue these characters say with a big dumb grin on their faces: "OOOF! That's gotta hurt!" It's little things like this that add a new dynamic to the book.

I loved the main character of this issue, Tommy Watts. He doesn't have any powers, and although he works for the company that produces the television show, he stands for all the right things, and he's willing to go the distance to help out the little guy. There's a bit of a twist towards the end that sets up the what the rest of this series will be about, but it's still really cool and a bit unexpected.

Bryan Hitch's work on this issue is fantastic. I've always been a fan, and his art is really showcased in this book. It's larger than life, and I love seeing his action sequences. I love how characters break through panels and overlap others.